How to archive Instagram posts and stories

Julia Moore
Have you ever had a situation when you look at your Instagram photo grid and realize that one post unpleasantly jumps out at you? You can't bring yourself to delete this publication, but at the same time it spoils the first impression about your account. In this case, it's better to archive it until good times. Let us walk you through the details of how to archive Instagram posts and stories.
Reading time — 14 minutes

Instagram Archive — learn more about it

Instagram Archive is a super convenient feature that allows you to hide some of your posts from followers. Don't delete a publication if you understand that one of them doesn't appeal to you anymore. Just save it to the archive. Who knows, maybe later you will look at this photo and regret that you removed it. If you archive the post, then it won't be difficult to return it back to the Instagram feed.

Moreover, your stories and live streams automatically go to archive too. If you are in the mood to trip down memory lane, open the Instagram Archive and see what you posted on a certain day of your life. 

How to archive Instagram posts

You can archive posts only from your phone.

  1. Open your Instagram account and tap the profile icon in the bottom right.
  2. Choose the post that you want to archive.
  3. Tap the three dots in the upper right corner.
  4. Select Archive.

Done! You've just moved your post to the archive.

How to unarchive posts on Instagram

You can unarchive your Instagram posts with ease.

  1. Go to your Instagram profile, hit the profile icon in the lower right corner.
  2. Tap the three lines in the upper right corner.
  3. Select Archive.
  4. Here you will see all the stories that you posted. Tap a downward arrow icon in the top part of the screen.
  5. Select Posts archive.
  6. Choose the post that you want to unarchive.
  7. Tap the three dots in the upper right corner.
  8. Select Show on profile.

If you want to delete a publication from the archive, then instead of Shown on profile, select Delete. The post will be moved to the section with recently deleted posts.

How to archive Instagram stories

You can't archive stories manually in a similar way as posts. However, they automatically go to the archive after 24 hours. 

How to unarchive stories on Instagram

Despite the fact that stories are available 24 hours, you can make them visible again. There are two ways to do this.

Way #1

Create Instagram Highlights. For instance, make Instagram Highlights with all of your selfies. Then your followers will visit your page and see not only the grid of posts, but also the story highlights section. 

How to make Stories Highlights:

  1. Open your account in the Instagram app and tap your profile picture in the bottom right corner.
  2. Here tap the plus icon above the photo grid.
  3. A section with archived stories will open. Choose stories that you want to collect in one highlight.
  4. Tap Next.
  5. Tap the Highlights field and come up with a name for this stories highlight.
  6. You can choose the cover. To do this, hit Edit Cover.
  7. Select one story as a cover. 
  8. Hit Done when you choose the perfect cover for your highlight.
  9. Tap Add to finish creating stories highlight.

Done! Now, users can watch your stories that you added more than a day ago.

If you want to beautify the highlight cover, then read our article about creating stunning covers.

Way #2

Post stories from the archive again. This is an amazing way to share with your followers what you did and where you were on this day three years ago, for example. Instagram will add the date when the story was created for the first time.

How to publish a story again:

  1. Open Instagram and tap the profile photo in the lower right corner.
  2. Tap the three lines in the upper right corner.
  3. Select Archive.
  4. Select and tap the Story you want to share.
  5. Find Share and tap it.
  6. Select Your story.

Done! Your story has been posted.

Can I archive all the posts at once?

No, you can't archive all Instagram posts at once. You have to archive each of them separately.

Will the statistics of the post disappear if I archive it?

No, the statistics of your publications won't be reset after archiving. If you decide to return the post to your feed again, the number of likes, comments, and views will remain the same.

Can I disable saving stories to archive?

Yes, you can disable saving stories to the archive. Then after 24 hours they will be permanently deleted.

How to do that:

  1. Go to your Instagram page and tap your profile image in the lower right corner.
  2. Tap the three lines in the upper right corner.
  3. Choose Settings.
  4. Find and hit Privacy.
  5. Choose Story.
  6. Scroll down till you see Save story to archive. Tap it. Move the slider to turn off this feature. 

What will happen when I add a post from the archive again?

The post won't be added as a new one, it will simply return to its place. Thus, followers won't see it in their Instagram news feed. So that the post doesn't go unnoticed, it's more effective to reupload it to Instagram. The best thing is to add a publication during the hours when user activity is the highest. Read our article to find out the best time for posting.

If you don't have this photo or video from the post in your phone camera roll, just upload it from Instagram. To do this, use the free Instagram Downloads service. First, don't forget to unarchive the necessary post to make it visible for a short period of time. After you download the photo of this post, you can delete it or archive it again.

How to use Instagram Downloads

You can use Instagram Downloads both from your phone and from your computer.

  1. Open your Instagram profile. Hit the profile photo in the lower right corner.
  2. Find and hit the post that you want to download.
  3. Tap the three dots in the upper right corner.
  4. Select Copy link.
  5. Open Instagram Downloads and tap the search bar.
  6. You will see an action menu. Choose Paste to add a link to the publication.
  7. Hit Search.
  8. Then tap and hold the post until the pop-up menu appears.
  9. Select Add to Photos if you are an iPhone user. If you have an Android, then select Download Image.
  10. Go to the photo gallery on your phone to find the downloaded photo.
  11. Here you will see the uploaded image in Recents.

Here is our result:

Let’s recap

Don't be so quick to delete a post from Instagram if you don't like it anymore. It's better to add it to the archive. Who knows, maybe another time you will get a new perspective on this photo.

All stories are moved to the archive after 24 hours. You can make highlights, so stories will always be available in the story highlights section. Another option is to repost them from the archive. Then the stories will be visible again for a day. 

An unarchived post is returned to its place in the Instagram grid. Thus, your followers won't see it as a new publication in the news feed. If you want to get likes and comments on the publication again, it's more effective to reupload it. 

Do you find the Instagram archive feature useful? Share your opinion in the comments.