How to change your TikTok username
Every TikTok account should have a username and a name. The first one you set while signing up. The second one is a copy of the first by default. After you’ve created an account, you can change them to make different in the settings.
Username stays after "@". You and TikTok users can see it on your page, videos, and above your comments.
It is the unique part of your profile link. That’s why when you modify it, you get a new link. People won’t find you by your old link.
Name can be seen on your TikTok profile page. Users can also see it in Direct Messages chat with you.
You can change both your TikTok names in the account settings. They are available only in the app. So, you should use your phone.
Remember about the limits when change TikTok:
- Username can include up to 24 symbols. You can use only the Latin alphabet, numbers, underscores, and periods. You can change it on TikTok once every 30 days. Make sure it is unique. The app won’t allow you to take a name that someone already uses.
- Name can include up to 30 symbols. You can use any alphabet, numbers, special characters, spaces. You can change it any time, and you don’t have to make it unique.
If you need to change your username on TikTok:
- Tap Edit profile.
- Choose Username.
- Type a new username in the field.
- Tap Save.
If you want to set a new name on TikTok:
- Tap Edit Profile.
- Choose Name.
- Type a new name in the field.
- Tap Save.
As you typed a username, you may notice it is not available. It means someone on TikTok has already taken it. You need to change it, or think up another one. Consider options that the app suggests to you.
If you don’t like the TikTok suggestions, try your own username options. Add characters and numbers, or a whole word to change it. You can also try using abbreviations, contractions, and synonyms.
Read our article on choosing a nickname for social media. There you will find more ideas on how to come up with the idea that will be cool and unique at the same time.
You can change TikTok username and name in the profile settings. They are available only in the app, so you should do this from your phone.
It’s not difficult to set new names. But remember, once you set a new username, you have to wait 30 days before you can do it again. That’s why you should think thoroughly when you decide.