How to remove suggested accounts on Instagram

Julia Moore
"Suggestions for you" is a pretty controversial Instagram feature. Some consider it handy, as it helps to find people with the same interests. Other people see nothing good in the suggested accounts. It even seems annoying to them. The reason is that it constantly suggest you to follow accounts you don't want to. In this article, we will figure out how algorithm generate the list, how to remove the user profiles from it. Sure, additionally, we have to learn how to turn off the notifications and how to delete your account from the suggested list.
Reading time — 10 minutes

How does Instagram Suggestions For Your algorithm work?

Instagram algorithm suggest a list of accounts to follow according to various signals. Below we've listed what it's based on.

  • Mutual friends. Instagram analyzes user accounts. If the system detects that you and another user have many mutual friends, then it suggests you to follow them.
  • Behavioral factor. Instagram tracks your actions on the platform. For example, what profiles you visit, whose posts you like or comment. So then, don't be surprised if these accounts turn out to be in your recommendations soon.
  • Search history. If you searched for someone's Instagram account, well, it's more likely that Instagram will suggest you to follow it sooner or later. 
  • Linked socials. It's no secret that Instagram and Facebook belong to Meta. Thus, these two social networks are closely connected. Therefore, Instagram may recommend following the accounts of those users who are your friends on Facebook. And it doesn't depend on what type of account you have, or whether you have logged in to Facebook or not.
  • Your location. Instagram algorithm tracks your location to form the suggestion list for you. It means that the system knows where you live and what you visit most often. Based on this, the system advises you to follow users who, for example, live in your city.
  • Your device information. Yes, Instagram also collects information about your device. How does this affect recommendations? For instance, you are logged into two accounts from your phone that are not connected to each other in any way. However, you may notice that in one account you are suggested to follow the users that you follow from your another profile. 
  • Phone contacts. If you have Instagram synced to your phone contacts, then you will also find the accounts of these people in the follow recommendations. 

You can remove most Instagram accounts from the suggested at once. Disable contact synchronization, then you won't see your friends and other people you have in your contacts. Follow these instructions:

  1. Open your account in the app and tap the avatar in the right bottom. 
  2. Tap the three lines in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  3. Go to Settings.
  4. Select Account.
  5. Hit Contacts syncing.
  6. Tap the slider next to Connect contacts to make it active.

That's it! Your account is no longer synced with contacts.

How do I remove an Instagram account from my suggestions?

If you are already fed up with one particular account that can't stop showing up in the suggested accounts in your Instagram, you can remove it from the list. Then Instagram will no longer offer you to follow it.

Instagram Suggestions For You usually appears in the feed after the first or second post. If you see the unwanted profile again, just tap the cross icon in the upper-right corner near it.

Don't rush to hit the cross icon. Once you remove an Instagram account from the suggestions, you can't cancel this action.

You can clear the list of suggested accounts on Instagram manually, deleting profiles one by one. Open the full list, there are two ways to do this.

The first method is getting to the Instagram suggestions in your profile feed:

  1. Tap See All
  2. Scroll through the list and look for the profiles you want to delete. To remove them from the suggestions, hit the cross icon next to Follow.

Another way to find suggested accounts on Instagram is from the Discover tab. Here's how you can find it:

  1. Open your profile in the Instagram app and tap the profile photo in the lower-right corner.
  2. Tap the three lines in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  3. Go to Discover people.
  4. You will see the same list as in the profile feed. If you find a profile that you want to remove from the suggestions, just tap the cross icon next to it.

Can I turn off Instagram account suggestions once and for all?

No, there is no way to get rid of suggested accounts on Instagram forever. The profiles will appear again from time to time.

How to disable similar or "you might know" Instagram account notifications

Instagram has one more way to suggest accounts to follow. Do you constantly get "you might know" notifications? 

In fact, it doesn't only distract, but can also mislead people. Thus, due to inattention, users think that they have a new follower and follow this person in response.

But if you're tired of these notifications, then it's time to turn them off. Here are instructions on how to disable the notifications:

  1. Open your profile in the Instagram app and tap the profile photo in the right bottom.
  2. Tap the three lines in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  3. Go to Notifications.
  4. Then tap Following and Followers.
  5. Find Account Suggestions and tap Off.

Done! Now you will not receive a notification that a user, who you might know, is on Instagram.

If you want to disable all kinds of notifications, then read this article to find out how to do it.

How to not be suggested on Instagram

You may be on the opposite side of the situation where your account is suggested to other users on Instagram, and you want to stop it. Then just disable this feature. 

You can hide your Instagram account from suggestions only in the web version of the platform.

Here is a step-by-step instruction:

  1. Open your profile in the Instagram desktop version and click the profile photo at the right top.

02. Go to Profile.

03. Click Edit Profile.

04. Scroll to the bottom of the page. Uncheck the mark next to Similar Account Suggestions.

05. To save the result, click Submit.

That's it! You have stopped your account from being suggested on Instagram to your friends and other users.

Little tip

If you delete some accounts from the suggested list on Instagram, then your profile will also not be recommended to these users. Therefore, we don't advise you to overuse tapping the cross icon if you are promoting your profile. After all, as a rule, the first followers are our acquaintances.

In promoting an Instagram profile, not only the informative part is essential, but also the visual perception of your account is a pivotal player. Try to keep the page in the same style and don't forget about the profile bio.

As we all know, only one external link can be added to the profile bio. But what should you do if you want to share your TikTok, Twitter, Facebook, and much more? Taplink is coming to the rescue for you. This tool combines several links into one URL at once. There are more than 300 designs on Taplink. Opt for one and add links to your socials and messengers. 

This is how, for example, a Taplink page can look like:

Let’s recap

Sometimes it seems that Instagram is keeping an eye on our social activity day and night. Then it suggests to buy the product we were looking for and then advises us to follow the people we saw today at the mall. But you shouldn't be afraid of this because these are just its algorithm.

Instagram Suggestions For You is a cool feature. It allows you to expand your social circle and the number of followers. But if you've already been weary of one account that seems to live in your suggestions, just delete it from there.

Remember, removing accounts from suggestions on Instagram also works in your direction. In other words, your profile will also not be added to the list of suggested accounts for these users.

Do you find the "Suggested for You" feature useful? Write your opinion in the comments.